Follow Fort Worth SPJ members on Twitter!
Gridiron Scholarships
Donna Darovich  $1,500. Recognizes excellence in writing
across all sections — news, arts, lifestyle, people stories. As a Star-Telegram reporter, Donna Darovich won consecutive feature-writing first places in Associated Press Managing Editors competitions. Texas Press Women twice named her
the state’s Most Outstanding Woman Journalist.
Jerry Flemmons  $1,000. Jerry Flemmons excelled at features, and he could turn a mean Gridiron Show script.
This scholarship rewards outstanding feature writing.
Joe Holstead  $1,000. Recognizes superior broadcast journalism. Larger-than-life Texas Radio Hall of Fame
member Joe Holstead was one of Fort Worth-Dallas’ most revered news personalities.
Staley and Beverly McBrayer  $2,000. Recognizes excellence in college student media or as an intern with a professional news organization. Think of this as Fort Worth SPJ’s MVP award. Staley McBrayer marketed the offset press, which revolutionized the printing industry.
Al Panzera  $1,000. Recognizes outstanding photojournalism. Trailblazing Star-Telegram photographer Al Panzera designed “Big Bertha,” a 4x5 Graflex telephoto camera customized for sports.    
Jack B. Tinsley  $1,500. Recognizes excellence in opinion writing such as columns and editorials. Jack Tinsley was Star-Telegram executive editor from 1975 to 1986 and led the
paper to two Pulitzer Prizes.
Lina Davis Scholarship  $2,000. Honors the memory of
longtime Arlington, Texas, educator and mentor Lina Davis, a nurturing and progressive journalism teacher at Sam Houston
and Arlington high schools. Several Lina Davis Scholarships may be awarded each year.
Jay Milner Scholarship  $1,000. Celebrates the contributions to journalism and journalism education of author/teacher Jay Milner, who is perhaps best known for his “Confessions of a Maddog: A Romp Through the High-Flying Texas Music and Literary Era of the Fifties to the Seventies,” a chronicle of his exploits with the gonzo horde. This scholarship is intended for students with great financial need.
past winners